WHY “WATCHING FOR GOD”


Word Press has intuitively provided the perfect header for my WATCHING FOR GOD blog.  It takes my breath away.   I mainly wanted to start this blog to be able to share my random thoughts.  Why is this blog called “WATCHING FOR GOD”?   Here is the story.

A few blocks from where I work is a park.  It isn’t a fancy park with beautiful trees or ponds.  Actually, a good portion of this park it is a parking lot.  But it is a place I can go to at lunch time for a bit of solitude.  I am fortunate that I work with great people. But, when it comes to my lunch time, it is my time to regenerate and be away from associating  with work, discussions of work and, although I have seldom been engaged in gossip at this work place, there is always that potential  element that exists.

On this particular day, I was enjoying my solitude and, as I had frequently done before, decided to take a short walk.  Upon returning from my walk, I glanced down at my feet and there next to the tire of my car was a dirty strip of green latex or rubber  about  2 1/2″ long and 1/4″ wide with the words “watch for God”.   Since I am always aware of God in my life,  this message became just another confirmation of His presence.

God and I have been familiar as far back as I can remember.  As far back as the songs I use to sing with him in mind  such as “HE” and “I Believe”.   But I only gave him ownership in  1986.

So you see, it is only appropriate that this blog be entitled Watching for God.  Because everything I do, I do with Him in mind.  Every day I have the privilege of viewing  his creation and every thought I have reminds me that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

I am, because He is and He allows me to be who I am.  He can open doors and He can close them.  Oh! and so much more.   I am excited to see what direction this blog will take.  Make no mistake.  It will be me writing it.  Sharing my random thoughts.  I imagine it will contain my successes and failures; my joys, my fears and apprehensions.  I hope to share His wonders in my life as well as some of life’s ugliness.  All the while Watching for God.

“Am I only a God near by,” declares the Lord, “and not a God far away”, declares the Lord……. “Do I not fill heaven and earth.” declares the Lord” Samuel 23:23-24

About iowamrs70

I am learning to fix computers
This entry was posted in Watching for God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

